Reporting on Aging Award Open PDF Print

Region: European Union

Application Deadline: 1 September 2012

ageingEuropean journalists whose work addresses the challenges of an aging society are eligible for this award.

The European Year for Active Aging and Solidarity between Generations 2012 awards, an initiative of the European Commission, recognizes the work of journalists who have raised awareness about problems facing aging populations and how they can be tackled, thus raising the increasing public debate and promoting better policymaking.

All entries must have been published or aired in European Union member states, Norway, Iceland or Liechtenstein between Oct. 1, 2011 and Aug. 31, 2012.

The first-place winner will receive EUR€2,000 (about US$2,450), with EUR€1,000 (about US$1,220) going to the second-place winner and the third-place winner receiving EUR€500 (about US$615).

The application deadline is September 1.

For more information, click here