Awards & Prizes
Index on Censorship Freedom of Expression Awards 2015 PDF Print

Deadline: 20 November 2015

Region: Worldwide


Nominations for the annual Index on Censorship Freedom of Expression Awards 2015 are now open. These prizes honour the most remarkable free expression leading figures, recognising their fight to speak out in the most difficult conditions. Previous award winners include Anna Politkovkaya, Wikileaks, Nawaat, Malala Yousafzai and Ali Farzat, among others.

Index invites the public, NGOs and media organisations to nominate anyone they believe deserves to be awarded in one of the four categories: Campaigner, Digital Activism, Journalism and the Arts. Winners will be flown to London for the ceremony, which takes place at The Barbican on March 18 2015. In addition, Freedom of Expression awards celebrate its 15th anniversary of the Freedom of Expression prizes inaugurating an Awards Fellowship open to all winners. This programme will provide training and support to amplify the work of the awarded.

Thomson Foundation Young Journalist FPA Award PDF Print

Deadline: 29 August 2014

Region: Worldwide

Thomson_Foundation_Young_JournalistThe Thomas Foundation is funding a prize which recognises young journalists, who work in the developing world, for the 2014 UK Foreign Press Association Awards. Applicants must be aged 30 and under, from a developing country.

They must submit a portfolio of three pieces of work, which must have been published or broadcast on or after 29 August 2013. The work can be in any format – print, audio, video, multimedia or a combination of all four.

Film Competition for Refugees Stories PDF Print

Region: MENA & Europe

Published: 13 June 2014

COPEAM_PRIZEPrix Italia, one of the most prestigious and oldest international competitions for Radio, TV and Web programmes in cooperation with COPEAM launches a film contest regarding the phenomenon of immigration from MENA Region.

In the occasion of its 66th edition, Prix Italia organises the event "Refugees Stories: Glances from the South” and opens its doors to all the audiovisual operators coming from the Southern countries (Maghreb, Sub-Saharan Africa, Middle East etc.), in order to collect short films or clips of documentaries/reportages on this delicate topic. The aim is to go beyond the usual information provided by the media, offering a more human perspective of the phenomenon of the refugees.

Kurt Schork Award in International Journalism PDF Print

Deadline: 31 May 2014

Region: Worldwide

war_correspondants_kurt_schorkLocal reporters and freelance journalists working anywhere in the world, are called to submit their articles for the 2014 Kurt Schork Awards in International Journalism.

Articles can encompass war reporting, human rights issues, cross-border troubles, corruption or other controversial matters impacting on people’s lives. The applicants must submit three separate articles until 31 May 2014. More details on 2014 Kurt Schork Awards and an online entry form can be found here.

Young Black Minority Ethnic Columnist of the Year PDF Print

Deadline: 9 May 2014

Country: UK

bme_columnist_of_the_yearThe competition for the Young Black Minority Ethnic Columnist of the Year has just been launched. It is open to young people between 18 and 24 who are members of Black Ethnic Minority and live in the UK. No previous journalistic experience or qualification is needed. The subject to be tackled by competition entrants is an issue that is important in your locality or a topic about which you feel strongly.

The opinion or editorial piece should be between 450 and 500 words in length, supported by at least two sources and can be illustrated with photographs or a short video clip. A cash prize of £250 will be awarded to the winner who will also get a final interview with The Guardian.

Mediterranean Journalist Award PDF Print

Published: 2 April 2014

Region: Euro-Mediterranean

Deadline: 31 May 2014

ALF_AwardThe Anna Lindh Foundation launches the 8th edition of the Mediterranean Journalist Award, calling on journalists of Written Press, Television, Radio and New Media, who are citizens of the 42 countries of the Union for the Mediterranean, in addition to Syria and Libya, to submit their works.

The Award aims at rewarding exceptional journalistic productions, contributing to a better understanding of the diversity of cultures in the Euro-Mediterranean region as well as promoting the positive role played by journalists in providing balanced and informing coverage on cultural issues in the region.

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 2 of 16