RNA Awards


Keywords: North America, USA, English, Prizes and awards, religion, print, broadcast, TV, online.

The Religion Newswriters’ Association (RNA) each year hosts several contests for religion reporters in the news media, with nearly $6,000 awarded in prizes.

It is the intent of the Religion Newswriters’ Association annual contests to recognize journalism excellence in general circulation newspapers, news magazines, news wire services, radio and television. The contests are designed to measure a journalist’s grasp of a diversity of religion issues. Religious media, including media whose goal is to support or promote a particular religion, faith community or religious group, are not eligible to participate in RNA contests.
Contest Categories are

Reporting Excellence—Print

Cassels Award honoring small newspapers (1st—$1,000)

Cornell Award honoring mid-sized newspapers (1st—$1,000)

Schachern Award honoring religion pages/sections (1st—Citation)

Religion Reporter of the Year Award (1st—$1,000)

Writing Excellence—Print

Supple Award for Religion Writer of the Year (1st—$1,000)

Broadcast Excellence

Radio Award for Religion Reporting (1st—Citation)

Television Award for Religion Reporting (1st—Citation)

College Students—Print

Chandler Award for Student Religion Reporter of the Year (1st—$600)

Lifetime Achievement

William A. Reed/Religion News Service Lifetime Achievement Award ($1,000)